Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 26th, 2012

In June my family went to Newport, Oregon to my nephew Derek’s graduation. Before the ceremony, my husband Rick and I took our two boys to a park next door to the Performing Arts Center, where the graduation was held. Our youngest son instantly struck up a friendship with this little girl. Soon they were walking hand-in-hand up the path to slide through a tube slide.

It was such a cute sight, I started snapping photographs. The little girl’s mom and I visited. She was friendly and positive and looked slightly familiar. The thought crossed my mind that if she lived near me we’d probably be friends.

My family had a good amount of time to kill before the graduation and hung out at the park for a while. I wound up sitting at a table with the little girl’s mom and grandpa. The mom asked me where I lived and what my name was. I told her and she said, “I thought that was you!”

Turns out, we share a mutual friend and we had all ridden horses together years before. Turns out, this woman, Sylvia and I don’t live that far apart. We both live in small towns in the Willamette Valley, which is nearly two hours away from the Oregon Coast where we bumped into one another at the park.

Such a small world.

Add to it the quick friendship that our children formed and it was a fun experience to remember. We exchanged contact info and we may get our kids together at a park here in the valley.

Have you ever had something like this happen to you?

Click on photo for bigger image. Copyright Danita Cahill. All rights reserved.

Read Full Post »